Government College Kasaragod
Government College Kasaragod

Dpt. ofPhysics

Department Profile

The department came into existence with the establishment of the college in 1957 with one year Pre-University Course which was later replaced by two year Pre-Degree scheme. Degree course with Physics as subsidiary subject was offered in 1962 for the BSc Geology course. Later Physics as subsidiary subject was opted for the BSc courses in Mathematics, Chemistry and Computer Science. Degree course with Physics as the main subject was introduced in the year 1965.

The Department of Physics is one of the leading part of the college with many of its alumni reaching good career positions in India and abroad. Many of our alumnis work in academic, R&D, and other luminous careers in the society. The department showcased a very good result in the 2006-'07 Kannur University examinations with a hundred percent pass result with one student bagging the second Rank in the University for BSc Physics.



SI No Faculty Name Designation
Experience Qualifications
1 Dr. Jijo P. U. Assistant Professor 10 years MSc, JRF(NET),PhD

Sumesh K. S.

Assistant Professor 6 years MSc, NET
2 Jubeesh M. K.

Assistant Professor

2 years MSc,NET,MPhil

Laneesh P.

Assistant Professor 1 year MSc, NET

Smera S.

Assistant Professor 6 Months MSc, NET

Dr. Nirmala Maria D'Souza

Guest Faculty 8 Months MSc, MPhil, PhD